Volunteer

GIVE HOPE BY GIVING TIME

Help us to spread awareness of Van Andel Institute (VAI) through Purple Community events!

We’re looking for motivated individuals to help us educate the community on what Purple Community is all about, be a listening ear to those who’d like to share their cancer or Parkinson’s stories, and be energized about joining the fight against cancer and neurodegenerative diseases.

Whether you are someone living with cancer or Parkinson’s, have someone in your life that is, or just someone who cares about the mission of Van Andel Institute and what we are doing through Purple Community, we would be grateful for whatever time you have to offer.

Volunteer Registration

To sign up for an event or shift, please email Allyson.Huttenga@vai.org with the event name as the subject.            

Upcoming Opportunities

Aug.

Sept.

Oct.

Nov.

Dec.

Saturday, August 4 – MINI Driving Course 

Wednesday, August 8 – Auto Body Xperts Zeeland Open House

Thursday, August 9 – Sharpe Collection Block Party

Friday, August 10 – Sharpe Collection Block Party

Saturday, August 11 – Sharpe Collection Block Party

Wednesday, August 22 – Auto Body Xperts Hudsonville Open House

Monday, September 3 – Honey Creek Inn Duathlon

Saturday, September 8 – CKC Series – Gunnar & The Grizzly Boys

Thursday, September 13 – Pure Barre on the Blue Bridge 

Thursday, September 13 – GVSU Nonprofit Fair

Friday, September 14 – Chippewa Valley High School

Saturday, September 15 – Hope College Soccer

Thursday, September 20 – West Ottawa Purple Power Soccer

Saturday, September 22 – Great Pumpkin Run

Friday, September 28 – Otsego Football Purple Game

Saturday, October 13 – West Michigan Woman Wine & Wig

Thursday, October 25 – CKC Series – Ashley McBryde

Thursday, November 1 – Leadership Lunch & Learn

No opportunities are available at this time.

We are always seeking volunteers for the following to enhance our program’s success in raising funds for research at Van Andel Institute!

  • Event support (third-party hosts and annual signature events)
  • Sharing the mission of Van Andel Institute and Purple Community
  • Supporting our cabinet subcommittees
  • Organizing inventory

For details on the ins and outs of our volunteer program, we encourage you to review our volunteer handbook below.                               

Volunteer Handbook